Meta Platforms Inc FB users run the social media platform Facebook and will soon no longer be able to enlist the help of their friends if they lose access to the website.
What happened: Currently, Facebook users can use the “Trusted Contacts” feature to get back on the platform if they lose access to their accounts.
Facebook said on its Help Center webpage that the Trusted Contacts feature will be gone soon.
This means that if you lose access to your account, your chosen friends will no longer be able to help you get back on Facebook.
See also: How to Buy Meta Platforms (FB) Shares
Why it matters: Facebook suggests that users update their email addresses and phone number in account settings. This ensures that they do not lose access to the platform in case they forget their password.
Account settings can be accessed in the top right corner of Facebook. Select “Settings & Privacy” and then click Settings.
Earlier this month, it was reported by Mineral News and Tribune that hackers targeted Facebook users who claimed to be friends who had lost access to the platform.
Messages sent to users are something like, “Hello, can you help me? I have a new phone and can’t log in to my Facebook. Can you help me with a code so I can log in?” according to the report.
Price Action: On Thursday, shares of Meta Platforms closed 4.2% lower at $191.63, according to Benzinga Pro data.
Read next: Formatting Google Docs is now a lot faster
This post If you lose access to your Facebook account, trusted friends can no longer help you: take these precautions now was original published at “https://www.benzinga.com/news/22/05/27434609/update-your-facebook-email-address-phone-numbers-trusted-friends-wont-be-able-to-help-you-soon”