Twitter rolls out ‘Unmentioning’ feature to unsubscribe from discussions


Twitter Inc TWTR is making available a previously restricted feature that allows all users to unsubscribe from conversations.

What happened: Twitter’s “security” handle shared an animation describing how users can use the “Unmentioning” feature.

Sometimes you want to see yourself.

Manage your listings and leave a conversation with Unmentioning, now available to everyone on all devices. pic.twitter.com/Be8BlotElX

— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) July 11, 2022

The feature can be accessed by clicking the three dots next to a conversation and selecting ‘Leave this conversation’.
See also: How to Buy Twitter (TWTR) Shares

Why it matters: The “Unmentioning” feature was in development for over a year. Last year, Twitter’s Senior Product Designer Dominic Camozzi shared a teaser on the platform.

notifications

If someone you don’t follow @ mentions you, you’ll get a special notification. If you don’t name yourself from there, the Tweet author won’t be able to name you anymore. pic.twitter.com/RTFBENkPFf

— Dominic Camozzi (@_dcrc_) June 14, 2021

Back then, Camozzi had said that if someone you don’t follow mentions you, you’d get a special notification. If you “don’t list” yourself, the tweet’s author will no longer be able to name you.

Last year, Twitter introduced a “Safety Mode” feature aimed at blocking aggressive and hateful users.

Price Action: On Monday, Twitter shares fell 11.3% to $32.67 in the regular session, according to Benzinga Pro data.

Read next: Twitter lawyers send scathing letter to Elon Musk’s team: Here’s what they said

Photo via rafapress on Shutterstock


This post Twitter rolls out ‘Unmentioning’ feature to unsubscribe from discussions was original published at “https://www.benzinga.com/news/22/07/28027091/twitter-rolls-out-unmentioning-feature-to-all-gives-users-now-have-a-way-out-of-toxic-conversations”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.